Someone sent us this quote last week. Wonderful stuff. I wonder whether this book is on Gove’s list of fifty books children should read every year

Terry Pratchett’s I Shall Wear Midnight

P 329

Tiffany said

‘I want a school, sir. I want a school here on the Chalk.’

‘Well, the travelling teachers do come through every few months’, said the Baron.

‘Yes, sir, I know, sir, and they’re useless, sir. They teach facts, not understanding. It’s like teaching people about forests by showing them a saw. I want a proper school, sir, to teach reading and writing, and most of all thinking, sir, so people can find what they’re good at, because someone doing what they really like is always an asset to any country, and too often people never find out until it’s too late. Learning is about finding out who you are, what you are, where you are and what you are standing on and what you are good at and what’s over the horizon and, well, everything. It’s about finding the place where you fit.’